Movie Trailers… Do People Still Watch Those???

It’s been forever since I’ve gone to see a movie in an actual theater, so I’m not exactly the resident expert on what the trailers are like anymore. But is it just me, or does it seem like they’re slowly being phased out? We all still know which films are coming out next, but when was the last time any of us actually watched a preview? In this digital information age, I’d almost think they were being automatically streamed into some Collective Consciousness pool and uploaded into our brains each time we blink. If nothing else, it makes a good plot for a movie. The Matrix meets Inception meets Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. Yes? No? Maybe…

On a similar note, it’s also starting to feel like forever since I gave you all a peek inside my own head. That’s not to say there’s been nothing going on up there. The Rabbits are as busy as ever. But as usual, my perfectionist nature won’t let me share the details if the timing is. not. quite. right. Maybe I should upload a few of my dreams to Facebook and tag my followers? The details would be just hazy enough that I wouldn’t have to worry about giving away too much, but I could still keep inquiring minds in the know. Not a bad idea, but until technology catches up I guess I’ll just have to make due with more “old fashioned” means. So here, for your viewing pleasure, is my list of “Coming Attractions” at your local RabbitsInMyMind Cineplex!

coming attractions

First up: An actual recurring dream that I’ve been having! It’s the subject of the play I told you I’m writing. I’ve set up my basic outline. I have a rough title. I know there will be four Acts with multiple Scenes in each one. And I’ve written text for most of the first Act. But, I still have to remind myself occasionally that I’ve accomplished a lot. It feels like such a slow process trying to solidify and create dialog around something as … well, hazy as a dream. It’s also been super draining writing on such a personal topic… hint hint, tease tease… Wondering what topic I’m referring to? Check out the snippets below and let me know what you think!

“… It was one of those weird, disjointed dreams that don’t really make sense. But somehow you just know that you have to go with the inside out rules. Y’know? … Yea, like that! Only it’s not really a “boom box” per se. At least, that’s not how I’d describe it … It’s my connection. To music. To the real. To myself. It’s my outlet. Short answer: They’re really big ass head phones that keep me close to her. (Pause) So yea, about that dream.”

“… Apparently, I’m the only one who knew how to drive, but they were the ones who knew where we were going. Although, I don’t really think they knew where we were going either. The dream ended and we never even got anywhere! Maybe I’m wrong to give away the ending so soon? Sorry, spoiler alert, but it’s true: all they did was create chaos and confusion.”

“… I know what I did wrong. I know that’s what everybody says. They all say: ‘If I could just go back in time, I could fix things.’ I also know that everybody’s wrong when they say they can fix things. Still. I know what I did wrong. I got a life.”

You’ve probably noticed, in those snippets, a few recurring themes from several of my previous blog posts. Yep, when my creative juices start flowing, it all seems to meld together that way. So it’s no surprise that my next preview flows naturally from the last one.

Continuing on the theme of music as my “connection” and my “outlet”, the thought occurred to me last week that I should share some of the music I’ve been listening to lately. It definitely acts as an inspiration for my writing. Or does my writing serve as an inspiration for the music I listen to? Hmmm. Anyway, I thought that would be a quick, easy post I could churn out in a day or two with no problem. I’d list my top five songs for the week – making sure to show off my eclectic tastes by featuring a song from five different musical genres – and include a brief description of what I like about each one. Easy, right? Apparently, my tastes are more eclectic than I knew.

I struggled to classify each song as falling under just one genre. I struggled to choose only five songs for the week. I struggled to write a description for each song that didn’t loop back to five other songs or artists or personal memories related to them. And after four days, the musical rabbits in my mind were starting to resemble a Markov chain that even Andrei Markov himself couldn’t unravel! But I’m learning not to fight my inner Dory. It’s part of my process. So I’m working on an interactive, much more in depth look at what’s Coming Through My Headphones. Think: memories of My First Kiss meets Skank meets Mahalia Jackson meets The Blower’s Daughter meets The Mad Violinist. It’s gonna be BIG. Real big. Yes, I do know I just listed five songs, but I promise there was no way I could have done a full post on those five songs without writing for weeks on end!

My final teaser trailer follows the thread of taking a closer look at old memories. It’s a Throw Back Thursday post I’ve been developing for the past two weeks. What’s so special about this particular throw back? It combines some of my Original Artwork, multiple Heavenly Bodies, a few Optical Illusions, my recent Greek Mythology binge (Did I mention I’m also planning a belated honeymoon to Greece with the hubby this May? Talk about binge-ing!), and more of my usual Self Discovery thrown in for good measure. Think that’s a lot to fit into a single post? It is. But it all comes as the lead up to another major announcement about the future of CultSTATUS.

Remember my last big news from a week, or so, ago? (Which is working out wonderfully, I might add). Well, Thursday’s post is going to be just as epic. Should I include a zoomed in picture of my artwork to whet your appetite? I think that depends on how many comments I can rack up below. I thrive on your feedback, after all! So, what do you think of the Coming Attractions? Are you guys tweaking any of your own W.I.P.’s? How goes the slow process? ~ cS

Leave a Reply

